About Us‎ > ‎

Our Board of Directors

Amy Jenkins, Chair

    Routt County Representative. Retired attorney, mediator, and law professor. Former School Board and Hospice Board member and Hospice volunteer in Laramie, WY. Current volunteer for        STARS, NW Colorado Hospice, Spellbinders, Heeling Friends, and Ambassador for Be The Match bone marrow organization.

Kathy Bockelman, Secretary

    Moffat County Representative. Retired School Counselor. Board member for Advocates-Crisis Support Services and Yampa Valley Pregnancy and Family Center, volunteer for Love INC’s            Peanut Butter and Jelly Program.

Kim Smith, Treasurer

    Kim Smith’s mission has always been to make a difference in the lives of others. As a senior executive and engineer with Texas Instruments for over 30 years she received multiple Patent            Awards and Leadership Awards including the National Association of Female executives (NAFE) award as a woman who is “breaking barriers, overcoming obstacles, achieving heights and        helping others to succeed”. She is an avid volunteer for numerous community organizations, and shares her expertise as a board member with many youth serving agencies. Kim is currently     the CEO of Kim Smith Consulting. 

Susan Petersen

    Susan re-joined the GFPC Board in the fall of 2019 after having previously served on the board from 1999-2009 while working as the Recreation Manager for the City of Steamboat Springs.        Susan currently serves as the Community Mobilizer for the “Communities That Care” project for Routt County, a 5-phase framework being used to target youth risk and protective factors with     an emphasis on substance use. She hopes to collaborate with and elevate the mission of GFPC and create a sustainable organization to serve northwest Colorado for decades to come.

Kyleigh Lawler

   Kyleigh Lawler moved to Steamboat Springs over 15 years ago to enjoy the great outdoors, quickly realizing this was more than an outdoor town. She is now laying roots to raise her 7 and 9       year old daughters in Routt County.  She currently serves as the Special Events and Volunteer Manager with Northwest Colorado Health. Kyleigh is also an adjunct instructor at Colorado           Mountain College. Kyleigh is passionate about creating community connections, parenting, and advocating for healthy choices and quality of life. Kyleigh is encouraged by the positive work       and outreach Grand Futures Prevention Coalition has been doing and is looking forward to serving on the Board of Directors.  

Bette Carlson

Bette moved to Steamboat Springs in 2004 and quickly became involved in Community Service.  She currently serves on the LiftUp Board of Directors and the Tread of Pioneers Board.  Her background is in Human Resources Management where she held various leadership roles at financial institutions and not-for-profit organizations in Chicago, the Girl Scouts of Colorado and Volunteer Coordinator at Horizons. 

Gretchen Van De Car 

Gretchen Van De Carr is Chief Executive Officer  of Rocky Mountain Youth Corps, since founding the organization in 1993. Gretchen has a MS in Environmental Engineering from the University of New Hampshire. She was a founding member of Routt County Youth Services Coalition (YSC), Partners in Routt County, the Community Evaluation Team, and Grand Futures Prevention Coalition.Gretchen is a 2005 graduate of El Pomar’s “Non-Profit Executive Leadership Program” and a 1995 graduate of the Community Resource Center’s “Grassroots Leadership Program”. Gretchen was recognized by the Bonfils-Stanton Foundation as a 2009 Livingston Fellow. As CEO of RMYC, Gretchen has supervised the management of millions of dollars of federal, state, local, and private funding for RMYC. In her spare time, Gretchen enjoys skiing, river trips, camping, playing drums, and traveling with her husband, Pete and two teenage boys, Otis and Oliver. 

Nick Cocozzella

Nick Cocozzella has worked with at-risk youth for the past 7 years, in secondary education, and is currently the Director of Concurrent Enrollment at Colorado Northwestern Community College, where he also serves as Chair of the CNCC Equity and Inclusion committee, and is the elected representative for the systems Equity and Inclusion Council, comprised of 14 Colorado Community Colleges. Nicks believe that every teen should have equitable access to a quality education. Before beginning his career in education, Nick spent 6 years on the road as a professional touring musician. He currently resides in Craig CO, and enjoys spending time with his wife, 4 chickens, 2 dogs, and cat.

Grand Futures Board of Directors meets every other month in one of our served Counties. For information on joining our Board, please contact info@grandfutures.org.